Your tub says 'hydrolysed' on one side and collagen peptides on the other, and perhaps a number followed by 'Da'. Those words describe the same product, it is absorbed partly as small peptides, and the proof that it changes your skin is weaker than the front of the tub suggests. This guide explains the form so you can judge what you are paying for.
If you want the wider picture before you buy, start with our complete guide to collagen supplements. Here I stay narrow, on what the words on your label mean and what the trials behind them show.
I am Clemmie Rose (dipNT, mBANT), a registered Nutritional Therapist and BANT member, and I led the nutrition clinic at The Kyros Project with Google DeepMind. My own habit is to read the trial and check who paid for it, and that is the habit I want you to take to your tub. For this guide we reviewed the absorption and clinical trials on PubMed, checked the funding source where the trials report it, and compared UK label claims against the Great Britain nutrition and health claims register.
Collagen Peptides in Short
Collagen peptides, also sold as hydrolysed collagen or collagen hydrolysate, are collagen from animal skin, hide, bone or fish scales that enzymes have broken into short chains. They typically average 2,000 to 5,000 Da, against hundreds of thousands of Daltons for intact collagen, so they dissolve in cold liquid and are absorbed partly as small peptides such as prolyl-hydroxyproline. Trials have used 2.5 to 15 g a day, and the skin and joint evidence is mixed, with independent trials weaker than industry-funded ones, so the grams on your tub matter more than the claim on its front.
What Are Collagen Peptides?
Intact collagen is a large protein, hundreds of thousands of Daltons in weight. Hydrolysis breaks it into short chains using enzymes, in acid or alkaline conditions, at a set temperature. A 2019 review in Molecules describes the result as a group of peptides with a low molecular weight, 3 to 6 kDa, which is 3,000 to 6,000 Da on your label.
Collagen peptides, hydrolysed collagen and collagen hydrolysate are one product class with three names. If your tub uses any of the three, you are holding collagen that has been broken down so it dissolves in cold coffee or water instead of setting like gelatin.
If you have searched 'collagen peptides vs marine collagen', the two are not rivals. Marine is a source and peptides are a form, so most marine collagen you can buy is already peptides.
Are Collagen Peptides Absorbed?
Yes, at least partly, and weirdly this is the cleanest part of the evidence. In a 2005 study, volunteers took 9.4 to 23 g of gelatin hydrolysates after a 12-hour fast, and peptide-form hydroxyproline appeared in their blood, peaking at 20 to 60 nmol per mL within one to two hours (Iwai et al.). The main peptide was prolyl-hydroxyproline, or Pro-Hyp, a small peptide made of proline joined to hydroxyproline, and it is the one researchers track in your blood after you swallow collagen.
A 2010 trial quantified nine hydroxyproline-containing peptides and found Pro-Hyp the major one, peaking at 60.65 nmol per mL. Its authors came from Meiji Seika Kaisha, so you should note the commercial link.
How the collagen is broken down matters to you too. In a randomised, blinded crossover trial, 10 healthy men took 35 g of enzymatically hydrolysed collagen, 35 g of non-enzymatically hydrolysed collagen, or water. Over 240 minutes, absorption rate and bioavailability of glycine, proline and hydroxyproline were significantly higher for the enzymatic version, and the authors declared no conflict of interest.
If you stir your collagen into coffee, one crossover trial found Pro-Hyp, Hyp-Gly and Gly-Pro-Hyp showed similar uptake in water and in coffee. Several of its authors were employed by Rousselot, so treat it as one trial, and watch for our forthcoming collagen coffee guide.
Here is what absorption does not prove for you. Pro-Hyp reaching your blood does not show that your body builds new skin collagen from it. That link rests largely on lab and industry-funded work, so it is a plausible mechanism and not a result.
What the Trials Show, and Who Paid for Them
Skin
Two skin meta-analyses tell a story you should hear in full. A 2021 analysis of 19 randomised trials and 1,125 people aged 20 to 70, 95% of them women, found better hydration, elasticity and wrinkles than placebo, and its authors concluded that 90 days of intake was effective.
A 2025 analysis of 23 trials and 1,474 people found the same positive result when it pooled everything. It found no effect in studies not funded by pharmaceutical companies, and no significant effect in the high-quality studies, so you should read the pooled result with care, and its authors concluded there is currently no clinical evidence to support collagen supplements for preventing or treating skin ageing.
I want you to hear that plainly: the best-quality and independently funded skin trials show no effect, and the positive pooled result is driven by industry-funded and lower-quality studies. Harvard's Nutrition Source says the same about the gap, that non-industry funded research on collagen supplements is lacking. That does not make the data false, and it does mean you should weigh each result with the funder in view.
The funders are not hidden, and you can check them yourself. A GELITA scientist co-authored a protein-quality review, and Oesser of the Collagen Research Institute co-authored the 2014 elasticity trial, the 2015 muscle trial and the 2018 bone trial below.
Joints
Joints look kinder to you. A 2025 meta-analysis of 11 trials and 870 people with knee osteoarthritis found improved function and pain, though the results varied a great deal between trials.
UK law
UK law has made its own call. On the Great Britain nutrition and health claims register, collagen claims for skin structure and for joints are non-authorised, and so are the collagen hydrolysate and VeriSol P versions. Vitamin C's contribution to normal collagen formation is authorised, so any tub that promises you firmer skin sits outside the register.
Study
People
Dose and length
Result
Funding link
de Miranda 2021, skin
1,125 (19 trials)
Pooled
Better hydration, elasticity, wrinkles
Not reported here
Myung 2025, skin
1,474 (23 trials)
Pooled
Positive overall, no effect if independent
Split by funder
Simental-Mendía 2025, knee
870 (11 trials)
Pooled
Better pain and function
Not reported here
Proksch 2014, skin
69 women
2.5 g or 5 g, 8 weeks
Elasticity improved
Co-author Oesser
König 2018, bone
131 enrolled, 102 finished
5 g, 12 months
Spine and hip bone density up
Co-author Oesser
Zdzieblik 2015, muscle
53 men
15 g, 12 weeks
More fat-free mass and strength
Co-author Oesser
Our guide on does collagen work gives you the full outcome evidence, because this page stays at summary depth.
How Much to Take
The trials give you a range, not one number. Proksch gave 69 women aged 35 to 55 either 2.5 g or 5 g a day for 8 weeks, skin elasticity improved in both groups, and no side effects were noted. König gave 5 g a day for 12 months to postmenopausal women, and bone density in the spine and femoral neck rose against control.
Clark gave 10 g a day to athletes for 24 weeks, with significant improvements in several joint pain measures. Zdzieblik gave 15 g a day to 53 men with sarcopenia alongside resistance training for 12 weeks, and the collagen group gained more fat-free mass than the placebo group (4.2 kg against 2.9 kg). I lift weights and do reformer Pilates myself, so the detail I would point you to is that both groups trained.
A 2019 review puts the effective range at 2.5 to 15 g a day. It also reminds you that collagen lacks tryptophan, so it is an incomplete protein and a scoop does not replace a complete protein serving. Keep your usual protein, as covered in our guide to plant protein vs whey.
Format matters. Tablets rarely reach 2.5 g or more per serving, so check the grams per serving on your pack and not the number of tablets. For timing, our guide on when to take collagen helps, and how much collagen per day splits the dose by goal.
Reading the Label: Daltons and Branded Peptides
The Dalton number on your tub is the average size of the peptides inside, and a smaller number is not a better result. Peptan, made by Rousselot, comes in 2,000 Da and 5,000 Da versions. Faster absorption from enzymatic hydrolysis has been shown, but better skin or joint outcomes from 'ultra-low molecular weight' marketing have not.
Branded peptides are the other name you will see on your tub, and the table shows who makes them. A brand name tells you which trial the dose came from, and our best collagen for joints guide covers the FORTIGEL products.
Brand
Maker
Aimed at
VERISOL
GELITA
Skin, hair and nails
FORTIGEL
GELITA
Joints
FORTIBONE
GELITA
Bone
BODYBALANCE
GELITA
Body composition with strength training
TENDOFORTE
GELITA
Tendons and ligaments
Peptan
Rousselot
Fish, porcine or bovine source, 2,000 or 5,000 Da
What to check on your label before you buy:
Confirm your tub says collagen peptides, hydrolysed collagen or collagen hydrolysate, so you know the form.
Compare the grams per serving with the 2.5 to 15 g range the trials used.
Read a Dalton figure as a description of processing, not a promise about results.
Look for a branded peptide name, which points you to the trial behind the dose.
Match the source to your allergies and diet, and look for a halal or kosher mark if you need one.
Where Collagen Peptides Come From: Bovine, Marine, Porcine and Chicken
Bovine
Bovine hide and bone is the most common source you will find in UK tubs. Check the label for the animal source, because some tubs name only 'collagen' on what you buy.
Marine
Marine collagen comes from fish skin and scales, so avoid it if you have a fish allergy and consider it if you are pescatarian. Our marine vs bovine collagen guide gives you the head-to-head, and best marine collagen UK ranks the products.
Porcine and chicken
Porcine collagen comes from pig skin, so it is not halal or kosher, and you should check any tub that does not name its source. Chicken sternum cartilage is mainly type II collagen. Rousselot sources Peptan from fish, porcine and bovine material.
Look for a recognised halal or kosher certification mark instead of taking a brand's word for it. Some people find bovine and marine powders carry a taste or smell, which is a fair reason for you to try another source.
Vegan
No vegan collagen peptides exist, because collagen is an animal protein. Anything sold to you as vegan collagen is a different ingredient, and our forthcoming best vegan collagen UK guide covers that group.
Collagen Peptides in Creams, Serums and Injections
The word 'peptides' in skincare usually means signal peptides, a different category from the collagen peptides you swallow. A cream is not a stronger version of your powder, and your powder is not a cream.
Injectable peptides sit outside this guide, so I give no dose and no endorsement. If you are pregnant, take prescribed medicines or have a medical condition, speak to your GP or pharmacist before you start any of these.
Collagen Peptides vs Gelatin vs Undenatured Type II
Gelatin is partly hydrolysed collagen, so it shares the amino acids of collagen peptides but sets when it cools. The first absorption study above used gelatin hydrolysates, which is why you meet gelatin in the research as well as in your kitchen.
Undenatured type II collagen is intact collagen taken in tiny doses, so it is not a peptide product and it works by a different proposed mechanism. I give no dose for it because none was verified for this guide, and you should not compare it gram for gram with your peptide powder.
Form
Processing
In liquid
Dose
Collagen peptides
Broken down by enzymes
Dissolves in cold liquid
2.5 to 15 g a day in trials
Gelatin
Partly hydrolysed
Sets when cooled
Not set as a supplement dose
Undenatured type II
Intact
Not applicable
Tiny doses, none verified here
Collagen peptides suit you if you already eat enough protein and want to test a trial-sized dose for a few months. You are not failing if you skip them, because the foundation is a protein-sufficient diet with plenty of vitamin C, and balance matters more than perfection. When you are ready to choose, our best collagen powder UK guide ranks the products.
Frequently Asked Questions
What will collagen peptides do?
Collagen peptides are absorbed partly as small peptides such as Pro-Hyp. In trials, 2.5 to 15 g a day was linked to better skin elasticity, less knee pain across 870 people, and higher bone density in one 12-month trial. The independent skin evidence is weaker, so you should expect no promises.
Is there a downside to taking collagen peptides?
The downsides are cost, a fish allergy risk with marine sources, and the fact that collagen is an incomplete protein. One 2014 skin trial noted no side effects. Our collagen side effects guide covers what people report, so check it before you start.
Does the NHS recommend collagen supplements?
The NHS gives no collagen supplement guidance on its vitamins and minerals pages. The Great Britain claims register has not authorised collagen claims for skin or joints. It does authorise vitamin C's role in normal collagen formation, so the NHS vitamin C guidance is a better place for you to start.
Who should not take collagen?
Avoid marine collagen if you have a fish or shellfish allergy. Porcine and uncertified bovine products do not suit you if you follow halal or kosher rules, and no collagen peptide is vegan. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding or have a medical condition, speak to your GP before you start.
What happens if I take collagen peptides every day?
Daily intake is how every trial was run, at 2.5 to 15 g a day for 8 weeks to 12 months. In one trial, 5 g a day for 12 months raised bone density in postmenopausal women. Our collagen and menopause guide covers what that means for you.
What are the 5 signs that collagen is working?
No validated list of five signs exists. The skin trials measured elasticity, hydration and wrinkle depth over 8 weeks or more, and the joint trials measured pain and function. Give your tub the trial length before you judge it, and see our best collagen for skin guide.
Can I take a collagen supplement with citalopram?
The WebMD collagen monograph lists no known interactions between collagen and medicines. That is not a clearance for your situation, so ask your pharmacist before you combine any supplement with a prescribed medicine such as citalopram. Never stop a prescribed medicine to make room for a supplement.
Are collagen peptides and hydrolysed collagen the same thing?
Yes. Collagen peptides, hydrolysed collagen and collagen hydrolysate are the same product class: collagen broken down by enzymes into short chains. Brands use different names, so you can treat all three as one thing when you compare tubs, and check the grams per serving instead.