Best Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste UK: 12 Compared by Dose

Qualified Nutritionist
We ranked 12 UK hydroxyapatite toothpastes by the dose they actually disclose, from 20% down to undisclosed, with prices and the fluoride trade-off.

Table of Contents
Some of the links in this article are affiliate links, which help fund our independent review work at no extra cost to you. Every recommendation is based on hands-on testing through The Editor Lab methodology. No brand pays to appear, and no placement is guaranteed.
S3 Daily Sensitive is the best hydroxyapatite toothpaste available in the UK for most adults.
I have spent years reading the back of supplement bottles, protein bars, and greens powders. I check ingredient lists on autopilot at this point. So it took me an embarrassingly long time to realise I had never once looked at the back of my toothpaste.
When I finally did - prompted by a client asking me to help her evaluate a hydroxyapatite paste her dentist had mentioned - I found an INCI list that told me almost nothing. It said 'contains hydroxyapatite.' No percentage. No particle type. No way to know whether the active ingredient was present at a clinical dose or as a marketing afterthought. I had been reviewing supplements for years, and I had never encountered a category where the most important number - how much of the active ingredient is actually in there - was so consistently left off the label.
That is the problem this guide addresses. The best hydroxyapatite toothpaste available in the UK is ranked here not by brand recognition or review count, but by the hydroxyapatite dose it is willing to disclose - through our Editor Lab evaluation process. Twelve UK-available products. Prices, particle types, fluoride status, and the honest read on what the science supports - because the category has done a lot of marketing work and the evidence is more interesting than either side is letting on.
“We ranked by disclosed hydroxyapatite percentage: it is the one number a reader cannot compute from a product page.”
Clemmie Rose is a registered Nutritional Therapist whose qualification is backed by BANT registration, with a Diploma in Nutritional Therapy from the College of Naturopathic Medicine. She has led the nutrition clinic at The Kyros Project with Google DeepMind and run clinics at The Wellness Clinic at Harrods. Her clinical focus is gut health, hormone balance, and performance nutrition, with a particular interest in the science behind wellness ingredient claims. For this guide, she evaluated formulations, dose disclosures, and regulatory evidence for all 12 products.
No payment or affiliate relationship exists between S3 Sensitivity Science and Balance Journal; this brand was selected on research and evidence alone.
Why the Percentage Matters More Than the Brand
There is a thread on r/moderatelygranolamoms that captures the hydroxyapatite problem in a single household. Two people, one product, six months. One saw no new cavities. One had a dental appointment they would rather not discuss. Same brand, opposite outcomes. The post has over forty comments, and not one person in the thread identifies the most likely explanation: without a disclosed percentage, there is no way to know whether either person was receiving a clinically meaningful dose, or whether the product's contribution was negligible.
'Contains hydroxyapatite' tells you the ingredient exists. It does not tell you whether the dose is therapeutic or cosmetic, and it does not tell you how the product compares to anything else on the shelf. The label on Biorepair says 'microRepair zinc-carbonate-hydroxyapatite.' The label on Boka says 'nano-hydroxyapatite.' Neither tells you a percentage. Both products retail at similar prices. Without the number, you are making a purchasing decision in the dark.
The dose question is also the one live PAA question on this keyword's Google SERP: 'Which toothpaste has the highest concentration of hydroxyapatite?' People are already asking. This guide answers it. Hydroxyapatite toothpaste is a category with enormous range - from under 1% to 20% in products that cost within a few pounds of each other.
There are zero active affiliate programmes in this category at time of writing (our affiliates database was queried on 2026-08-27 with no oral-care results across 68 active programmes). Rankings here are purely editorial, applied against the six criteria published in 'How We Compared These.'
The short answer before the full table: the highest disclosed dose on this roster is Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair at a reported 20% micro-hydroxyapatite. The highest dose that also keeps fluoride is S3 Daily Sensitive at 15% across two particle sizes. The cheapest way to get hydroxyapatite and fluoride in the same tube is Georganics at £4.50. Everything else is context.
S3 Daily Sensitive leads on the combination of dose, active breadth, and fluoride retention. It is 15% hydroxyapatite across two particle sizes, 5% potassium nitrate, and 1,450 ppm fluoride - the only formula on this roster carrying all three at meaningful doses simultaneously. It is also, at £19.99, between four and five times the price of Georganics, which does the hydroxyapatite-plus-fluoride job for £4.50. Both facts matter. Read the S3 section before buying.
For fluoride-free, Nura's disclosed 12% dual-particle dose is the highest on the roster. It is UK-developed, with published testing data from the University of Milan. Note that the article about these products ranked at position 4 on Google for this keyword is published by Nura itself - and it ranks Nura first. We have scored them second here on disclosed dose, with that context on record.
Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair is the number to beat on raw dose at a reported 20% micro-hydroxyapatite, and it is £6.99 at Boots. If you want the highest concentration available on a UK high street, this is it.
Nano or Micro - Which You Actually Want
The label will say 'nano' or 'micro' or, increasingly, both. The distinction matters more than most packaging suggests.
Nano-hydroxyapatite is milled to particles small enough to enter the microscopic dentine tubules and settle into micro-lesions in the enamel surface. It works at depth - reaching into the early demineralised zones where the earliest cavity lesions start, and physically occluding the tubules that carry cold and heat to the nerve. This is the form in Boka, RiseWell, Davids, Dr Jen, Fygg, and Apagard.
Biomimetic hydroxyapatite is a larger, porous particle that adheres to the enamel surface and releases calcium ions. It works on the broader surface, building up the mineral layer from the outside in. This is the 5% biomimetic component in S3 and in Nura.
Micro-hydroxyapatite is a coarser particle than nano, offering greater surface area coverage. It is the form in Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair and Miltodent, and the form for which the EU's scientific committee (the SCCS) has published a higher safe-limit threshold than for nano. See the safety section for the exact figures.
A formula using both nano and biomimetic covers more ground than one using either alone. Nano goes deeper; biomimetic reinforces the surface. That is the mechanical argument for dual-particle products and it is why S3 and Nura sit at the top of this ranking on a combination of dose and formulation logic rather than brand recognition alone.
One thing the category does not say often enough: not all hydroxyapatite pastes are gentle. A reader in r/Menopause described trying several and finding them 'very abrasive' and making her dental sensitivity worse. Abrasivity is a formulation variable, not an ingredient property - it depends on carrier particles, silica, and SLS content. SLS-free, foam-free pastes (Miltodent, Biorepair, Georganics) are a better starting point for anyone with existing sensitivity or irritation, regardless of hydroxyapatite dose.
Top 12 Hydroxyapatite Toothpastes: Detailed Reviews
All 12 products were verified as UK-available on 2026-08-27. Prices are in GBP, from named UK retailers, correct at that date.

1. S3 Daily Sensitive - Best Overall
S3 Daily Sensitive is built around three actives and fluoride: 10% nano-hydroxyapatite (fine enough to enter enamel micro-lesions and seal exposed dentine tubules), 5% biomimetic hydroxyapatite (surface-adhering, releasing calcium), and 5% potassium nitrate (the clinically dosed active for nerve calming). Full-strength fluoride at 1,450 ppm as sodium monofluorophosphate is kept throughout - not reduced, not removed.
In a four-week consumer trial with 52 people who experience regular tooth sensitivity, 90% said their teeth felt less sensitive in situations that normally trigger discomfort, 88% said S3 helps manage their sensitive teeth effectively, 85% said S3 was more effective for their sensitivity than their usual toothpaste, 96% said it feels gentle on their teeth, and 81% said their sensitivity bothered them less after just one week. These are reported perceptions from a consumer trial; they are not efficacy claims.
The formula is SLS-free and includes prebiotic xylitol. It is currently the only product on this roster combining dual-particle hydroxyapatite at 15%, a full 5% potassium nitrate dose, and full-strength fluoride - as far as verified in the products available at time of writing. The 'only' framing applies to that specific triple combination; Georganics and Dr Jen Natural also carry hydroxyapatite and fluoride, at different doses and without potassium nitrate.
At £19.99 a tube or £14.99 on subscription, it is the most expensive product on this roster by a clear margin. Georganics does the hydroxyapatite-plus-fluoride job for £4.50.
“The formula holds three things most products make you choose between. That is the argument for the price. Still read the Georganics section.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Daily sensitivity management with full fluoride protection |
| Flagship product | S3 Daily Sensitive Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop S3 Daily Sensitive → |

2. Nura Mineralising Paste - Best Fluoride-Free
Nura discloses 12% hydroxyapatite across two particle sizes: 7% nano and 5% biomimetic. That dual-particle disclosure puts it second on this roster by dose, and first among fluoride-free options. It is UK-developed, with published testing at the University of Milan and a visible Trustpilot review base.
One piece of context you deserve: the guide ranked position 4 on Google for this exact keyword - 'Best Fluoride-Free Hydroxyapatite Toothpastes in the UK' - is published by Nura, and it ranks Nura at number one. Nura is a genuinely strong product. It earns its place here on disclosed dose and formulation quality. It sits at number two rather than number one because S3's combination of dual-particle hydroxyapatite, potassium nitrate, and fluoride is the more complete formula for most readers.
The fluoride-free position is Nura's deliberate choice, not a limitation for every user. For an adult with no cavity history, no dry mouth, and a low-acid diet, a fluoride-free 12% dual-particle paste is a well-evidenced option. For anyone in the at-risk groups - see the fluoride section - it is a trade-off worth naming.
“If you have decided fluoride is not for you, this is the best-formulated and best-disclosed option on the UK shelf right now.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Fluoride-free with maximum disclosed dual-particle dose |
| Flagship product | Nura Mineralising Paste |
| Shop | Shop Nura → |

3. Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair - Highest Disclosed Dose
At a reported 20% micro-hydroxyapatite, Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair is the highest-dose product on this roster by a significant margin. It is also available at Boots for £6.99 - one of only two products on this list genuinely on a UK high street.
A note on sourcing: the 20% figure is currently reported by nurateethcare.com's ranking, rather than stated on the UK Boots product page. Boots blocks automated fetch, so this figure is attributed to that source and should be verified directly from the Dr Wolff or Boots product listing before purchase. If the dose is confirmed, this is the direct answer to the most-asked PAA question on this keyword - 'Which toothpaste has the highest concentration of hydroxyapatite?'
Bioniq Repair uses micro-hydroxyapatite only. It does not include nano particles, potassium nitrate, or fluoride. For someone whose primary interest is the highest available hydroxyapatite concentration and who is not in a fluoride at-risk group, the combination of dose and high-street availability is a strong one. For anyone concerned about cavity prevention, a fluoride supplement elsewhere in the routine is worth considering.
“The number to beat on dose. Verify it before you buy, but if it confirms, this is the high-end option at an unexpectedly accessible price.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Highest disclosed micro-hydroxyapatite concentration |
| Flagship product | Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop at Boots → |

4. Miltodent Premium - Best Micro-Hydroxyapatite
Miltodent discloses 15% micro-hydroxyapatite and sits alongside S3 in the dose tier. The difference is what else is in the tube. Miltodent does not include fluoride, nano hydroxyapatite, or potassium nitrate - it is a single-active paste built around micro-HAp alone.
That is not a criticism. It is a product designed for readers who want a disclosed, high-dose micro-hydroxyapatite paste with no fluoride and no SLS, and it delivers on all three. It has 96 ratings at 4.94 out of five on the verified review source, which is the highest rating-per-number-of-reviews ratio on this entire roster.
It is available via eBay at £12.93 and via Amazon UK. The absence of a UK retailer or brand website makes it harder to verify freshness of supply, and the 15% figure should be confirmed at the point of purchase. For sensitivity-prone buyers who react to SLS and want a foam-free experience, the formulation profile - micro-HAp at 15%, SLS-free, foam-free - is genuinely well-suited.
“Excellent ratings, an honest dose, and a foam-free formula for anyone who cannot get on with standard toothpaste texture.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | High-dose micro-hydroxyapatite, SLS-free and foam-free |
| Flagship product | Miltodent Premium Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop on eBay UK / Amazon UK → |

5. Biorepair - Best Value Fluoride-Free
Over 1,000 verified purchasers have rated Biorepair across two variants, making it the best-reviewed product in this entire category. The main Biorepair formulas carry 4.8 out of five on 385 votes and 4.8 out of five on 709 votes across two variants - figures from Google Shopping's aggregate ratings, which aggregate across verified purchasers rather than brand-submitted data. That review profile, from 1,000+ buyers combined, is not something a competitor with six months on the UK shelf can match.
The friction is the one that matters most in an article built around disclosed doses: Biorepair does not disclose its hydroxyapatite percentage. The active ingredient is labelled as 'microRepair zinc-carbonate-hydroxyapatite', which is a proprietary formulation term rather than a concentration. Readers who want to know exactly how much they are getting will not find the answer on the box.
That is not a product failure - Biorepair is a well-established brand with broad UK distribution. It is a disclosure failure that costs it ranking points in an article where the percentage is the whole point. At £5.20-£6.99 depending on variant, it is excellent value for a widely-reviewed, widely-available fluoride-free option.
“The most loved product in the category, with the most evidence behind the love. The dose disclosure is the question only the brand can answer.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Best-reviewed fluoride-free at accessible price |
| Flagship product | Biorepair Intensive Night Repair / Total Protection |
| Shop | Shop on Amazon UK → |

6. Apagard Premio - The Original
Sangi, the Japanese company behind Apagard, did not invent hydroxyapatite. But it did commercialise nano-hydroxyapatite in toothpaste decades ago, and Apagard has been a mainstream anti-caries ingredient in Japan for long enough that the 'this is a new clean-beauty trend' argument simply does not apply to it. Two of the nine live PAA questions on Google for this keyword are about Japanese hydroxyapatite toothpaste. That signal - Google surfacing Japan twice in the top nine questions - reflects genuine reader curiosity about origin and longevity, and Apagard is the direct answer to both.
Apagard Premio's hydroxyapatite concentration is reported as approximately 10% nano-mHAP. Like the Dr Wolff figure, this comes from third-party sources rather than the UK product listing, and the figure should be verified at the point of purchase via the Amazon UK or Pharmeden listing. The product does not include fluoride.
The Japanese origin context is genuinely useful as a counter to the 'this is just marketing' objection - a reader in r/hygiene framed it precisely: 'I kept seeing hydroxyapatite toothpaste everywhere lately - especially from clean brands claiming it can rebuild enamel.' Apagard's decades of use in Japan is the strongest available rebuttal to that scepticism, and it belongs in any honest account of the category.
“The product that established the ingredient. Worth knowing about, and worth checking the current UK price at point of purchase.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Established nano-hydroxyapatite with longest track record |
| Flagship product | Apagard Premio |
| Shop | Shop on Amazon UK → |

7. Boka Ela Mint - The Best-Known Name
Boka is the most-recognised name in this category among UK readers who follow the clean-beauty and wellness spaces. It is on this roster because the brief specifically includes it, and it deserves a ranked position - because the product is real, widely available, and broadly well-reviewed.
It also has two adjudications against it that no honest guide to this category can omit.
In May 2025, following a challenge by The Procter & Gamble Company, the National Advertising Division (NAD) of BBB National Programs recommended that Essor Group, Inc. - Boka's parent - discontinue claims that Boka toothpaste remineralises and whitens teeth, along with prebiotic claims for Boka mouthwash. NAD concluded there was insufficient evidence to support the remineralisation claim. Essor stated it would appeal.
On 21 July 2025, a panel of the National Advertising Review Board (NARB) upheld that recommendation, recommending Essor discontinue the remineralisation, whitening, and mouthwash claims. Essor stated it 'strongly disagrees' but would comply.
What the adjudications do not say: they are not a scientific verdict on hydroxyapatite as an ingredient. NAD assessed the evidence Essor submitted for its specific claims. That is different from a finding on the ingredient, and the article says so directly rather than letting the reader conflate the two.
Boka also does not disclose a hydroxyapatite percentage. In an article whose entire premise is that the percentage is the number that matters, that non-disclosure costs it ranking points. UK pricing is £9.99-£13.66 via Amazon UK, eBay, and healf.com.
“Well-known and widely available. The adjudications are documented fact. The dose is your question to ask the brand.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Accessible fluoride-free option with strong brand awareness |
| Flagship product | Boka Ela Mint Nano-Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop at healf.com → |

8. Georganics - Best Value Both-In-One
Georganics makes the best single point this article can make with a price tag: £4.50. That is the cost of their hydroxyapatite fluoride toothpaste, available from Peace With The Wild, which ranks position one organically for 'hydroxyapatite toothpaste with fluoride'. It contains 1,350 ppm sodium fluoride - meaningful, close to standard adult-strength. It contains hydroxyapatite, though no percentage is disclosed. It is a UK brand.
The inclusion of Georganics is not optional in this guide. Any article claiming S3 is 'the only formula' combining hydroxyapatite and fluoride would be refuted by clicking result one on the adjacent keyword's SERP. Georganics does not carry potassium nitrate and does not disclose its hydroxyapatite percentage - which is where S3 earns its position and its price. But for a reader who wants hydroxyapatite and fluoride in the same tube and is not paying £19.99 to get it, this is the answer.
There is also a children's strawberry variant with hydroxyapatite and fluoride, which is relevant for the parent segment in this category - specifically the readers in r/moderatelygranolamoms who are buying for children and for whom the fluoride question is most acute.
“The cheapest way to get hydroxyapatite and fluoride together. Not the highest dose, but a UK brand at an honest price.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Budget-friendly hydroxyapatite and fluoride combination |
| Flagship product | Georganics Hydroxyapatite Fluoride Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop at Peace With The Wild → |

9. Dr Jen Natural Super Paste - Best Dentist-Formulated Both-In-One
Dr Jen Natural Super Paste discloses 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and 0.22% fluoride. It is the second product on this roster carrying both, it is dentist-formulated, and it also includes xylitol. It is available in the UK via British Vita with free UK-wide delivery.
The 10% nano-hydroxyapatite figure is published by the brand, making it a confirmed source rather than a third-party estimate. The 0.22% fluoride (2,200 ppm) is in fact higher than the 1,350 ppm in Georganics and the 1,450 ppm in S3 - it is a higher-fluoride format. For readers whose dental concern is primarily cavity prevention and who want both actives with a dentist's formulation behind them, the combination is compelling.
It is a US brand shipping to the UK, which means you are depending on import logistics and British Vita's stock reliability. For a dental daily-use product, supply consistency matters - verify that the product is currently in stock before committing.
“The other both-in-one. Dentist-formulated, disclosed dose, higher fluoride than the others. Worth the import logistics for the right buyer.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Dentist-formulated hydroxyapatite with high-fluoride protection |
| Flagship product | Dr Jen Natural Super Paste |
| Shop | Shop at British Vita → |

10. Davids Sensitivity + Whitening (Hydroxi)
Davids ranked second in the strongest competing guide on this SERP - Dr Jarri Amini's review on myprivatedentist.com, which is authored by a GDC-registered dentist and carries significant authority in this category. That endorsement is worth registering, and it is why Davids earns a place here despite no disclosed hydroxyapatite percentage on the UK product listing.
The Hydroxi variant is a nano-hydroxyapatite formulation. It does not include fluoride. UK pricing is £8.99-£9.38 via healf.com and PriceRunner. Healf stocks it reliably and ships UK-wide.
The absence of a disclosed percentage means Davids cannot rank higher here. A GDC-registered dentist recommending it is meaningful signal - these are professionals with access to clinical information the shelf does not provide. But for a reader whose buying criterion is a confirmed dose, the percentage gap is the gap.
“A respected recommendation from a credible clinical source. The disclosure question is the one to put to the brand directly.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Expert-endorsed fluoride-free with whitening support |
| Flagship product | Davids Sensitivity + Whitening Nano-Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop at healf.com → |

11. RiseWell Mineral - Widely Recommended, Thinly Dosed
The most-recommended hydroxyapatite toothpaste in this category has one of its lowest confirmed doses. RiseWell appears in nearly every roundup in this category, it is ranked fourth by Dr Jarri Amini's guide, and it has a loyal following across wellness-adjacent communities. It is also, according to nurateethcare.com's published ranking, the product with the lowest reported hydroxyapatite concentration on this entire roster - under 0.8% nano-HAp, as that source reports it.
That figure is attributed to nurateethcare.com's independent ranking, not to RiseWell directly, and it should be verified with the brand. If it is accurate, it is an order of magnitude below S3, Nura, and Dr Wolff - which means the wide recommendations may have very little to do with hydroxyapatite dose, and very much to do with other qualities of the formula.
RiseWell does not disclose its hydroxyapatite percentage. UK pricing is £14.86-£14.98 via healf.com and Amazon UK. At that price, with a claimed concentration reportedly under 0.8%, RiseWell is the clearest example in this guide of why a disclosed percentage is the most important number a buyer can ask for.
“The clearest example in this article of why 'recommended' and 'dosed' are not the same thing. Check the percentage before buying.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Name recognition; verify dose before purchase |
| Flagship product | RiseWell Mineral Toothpaste |
| Shop | Shop at healf.com → |

12. Fygg Nano-Hydroxyapatite with Prebiotics - Best-Reviewed Boutique
Fygg discloses 3.1% nano-hydroxyapatite. That is the lowest confirmed percentage on this roster. It is also the product with 784 reviews at 4.46 out of five on the mint variant - 4.53 out of five on a second variant, and 4.38 out of five on a third. These are not small samples.
There is a real tension here and the guide should not flatten it. A product with 784 reviews averaging 4.46 is doing something right. The prebiotics angle is genuinely distinctive - no other product on this roster includes a prebiotic component targeting the oral microbiome, and the emerging science on the oral microbiome is more credible than most prebiotic marketing suggests. But 3.1% hydroxyapatite, at £14.99 from healf.com, is the most modest confirmed dose-to-price ratio on this roster. The reviews say the product delivers for its users. They do not tell you whether the hydroxyapatite is doing the work, or whether it is something else in the formulation.
“Excellent reviews and a genuinely novel prebiotic angle. The lowest confirmed dose here: choose Fygg if oral microbiome health is the priority.”
| Evaluation Criteria | Our Findings |
|---|---|
| Full review | Coming soon |
| Best for | Prebiotic oral microbiome support with nano-hydroxyapatite |
| Flagship product | Fygg Nano-Hydroxyapatite with Prebiotics |
| Shop | Shop at healf.com → |
What We Left Out, and Why
Transparency about exclusions is more useful than a longer list.
Truthpaste discloses 5% hydroxyapatite, is fluoride-free, and is a genuine UK zero-waste brand (£12-£13.95). It ranks ninth organically on this keyword. It is a credible product that a reasonable buyer could choose. It sits just below the dose bar that the twelve ranked products clear, which is the only reason it is not ranked here. It is an honourable exclusion.
SURI Restore is stylish, NATRUE-certified, and available UK-wide via Growing Smiles. But nano-hydroxyapatite appears near the end of its INCI list with no disclosed percentage, and a UK dentist review noted lukewarm results on foam and clean-feel. Insufficient transparency for a ranked position.
Gutology ranks third organically on this keyword and has over 550 Trustpilot reviews at 4 out of five. The problem is the price: £38.70 for 120 ml, structured mainly as a 90-day subscription plan. A strong product behind a subscription gate at that price is a poor general recommendation for a category comparison.
Dimples Oral Care is UK-available at £7.99-£8.99 and ranks second organically for the fluoride-variant keyword. It publishes no hydroxyapatite percentage.
Unbranded Amazon and eBay pastes claiming 7.5%, 9.9% or 10% at £3.99-£6.99 dominate the shopping carousels on this SERP. They may be fine. They cannot be traced to a named manufacturer or a verifiable formulation, which means the percentage claim itself is unverifiable. Stating that clearly is more useful than a ranked position.
The Fluoride Question
The pitch across most of this category is that hydroxyapatite is a natural replacement for fluoride. It is a good pitch. It is not what the evidence supports.
Hydroxyapatite and fluoride are not alternatives. They do genuinely different things. Hydroxyapatite supplies the mineral enamel is already made of - it rebuilds the surface and seals exposed dentine. Fluoride changes the mineral that is already there, converting the surface into a form that dissolves at a much lower pH than ordinary enamel. One is supply, the other is armour. Framing them as competitors is a category error.
What the evidence actually establishes on hydroxyapatite is real and growing: there are good studies on remineralisation and on sensitivity relief, and the sensitivity evidence in particular is strong enough that hydroxyapatite is now a credible clinical choice for that job. But it is a fraction of the size of the fluoride evidence base on the outcome that matters most: preventing cavities. The Cochrane review on fluoride toothpastes covers that evidence at depth. The Oral Health Foundation's position on fluoride reflects the UK professional consensus. Neither currently recommends replacing fluoride with hydroxyapatite.
For most healthy adults with no cavity history, a fluoride-free hydroxyapatite paste is probably a reasonable choice. That is the honest answer, and it is the person most of the category's marketing pictures.
The groups who carry the real cost of dropping fluoride are different:
- Anyone with a history of cavities. Past decay is the single best predictor of future decay, and this is precisely the group that should not be giving up its best protection.
- Children and teenagers, whose newly erupted teeth are most vulnerable and where the fluoride evidence is strongest.
- People with dry mouth - from medication, medical treatment, or age. Saliva is the mouth's own remineralising system, and when it is reduced, every active matters more.
- Anyone with a high-sugar or high-acid diet: frequent coffee (coffee is mildly acidic and contributes to a pH environment where enamel is vulnerable), fizzy drinks, juice, or acid reflux.
- People with orthodontic appliances, crowns, or significant existing restorative work.
If you are in any of those groups, trading a well-evidenced protection for a less-evidenced one is a real cost. It is also an unnecessary one, because you can have both - see the Georganics and Dr Jen sections for the options that do not make you choose.
The UK's professional guidance is set out in the NHS guide to how to keep your teeth clean and in the DHSC and OHID toolkit, Delivering Better Oral Health, which remains the anchor document for UK dental public health practice.
Is Nano-Hydroxyapatite Safe?
The biggest anxiety in this category - 'is nano-hydroxyapatite safe?' - has a clean, checkable, authoritative answer that most of the articles currently ranking on this keyword do not give.
The EU's Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (the SCCS) has published two formal safety opinions on hydroxyapatite (nano). The March 2023 opinion found nano-hydroxyapatite safe at up to 10% in toothpaste and up to 0.465% in mouthwash, conditional on specific particle geometry: rod-shaped particles where at least 95.8% by number have an aspect ratio below three, with no coating or surface modification. The conditions matter - the opinion did not give blanket clearance to any nano-hydroxyapatite particle.
The final opinion of 1 July 2025 revised the safe limit in toothpaste upward to 29.5%, reflecting further data. This is a significant increase and it addresses the organ-toxicity question directly: at the concentrations used in toothpaste and mouthwash, nano-hydroxyapatite is not considered to pose a toxicological risk via these exposure routes.
The regulatory implementation is Regulation (EU) 2024/858, which amended the EU Cosmetics Regulation to include nano-hydroxyapatite under defined conditions. This is settled EU law, not a pending question.
What the SCCS opinion does not establish: it is not a position on any specific brand's product. It assesses the ingredient at specified particle geometries and concentrations. Whether a given product meets those conditions is the brand's responsibility to demonstrate, not a conclusion the SCCS has drawn on their behalf.
The 'organ toxicity' concern circulating in forums reflects a genuine gap in early-category communication rather than an established risk. The SCCS's process is the authoritative answer. State the conditions; do not flatten it.
What the Evidence Actually Says
The honest position on hydroxyapatite evidence is not 'it works' or 'the claims are unproven.' It is: the evidence is promising, growing, and significantly thinner than the fluoride evidence base, which is the most studied outcome in dentistry.
O'Hagan-Wong et al. 2021, 'The use of hydroxyapatite toothpaste to prevent dental caries,' cited 199 times at time of writing, is the systematic review the evidence base currently rests on for cavity prevention. It finds hydroxyapatite toothpaste comparable to fluoride in some settings. This is genuinely promising. It is also one systematic review, not a decades-deep multi-population evidence base.
One counter-source this article will not ignore: Professor Elzbieta Paszynska and colleagues in Poland have published work concluding that hydroxyapatite is 'a safe and effective alternative to fluoride in caries prevention for daily use.' That conclusion directly contradicts this article's position on fluoride replacement. It deserves acknowledgement rather than omission. A single trial, however well-designed, does not displace the depth and breadth of fluoride's evidence base - and the O'Hagan-Wong systematic review covers the same question at larger scale. But the disagreement is real, the Polish research is peer-reviewed, and presenting it lets the reader see the actual state of debate rather than a curated consensus.
The clearest route through the uncertainty for a reader who follows wellness content and reads the same mycotoxins in coffee and are coffee pods bad for you type reasoning: apply the same critical framework here. The ingredient is real. The mechanism is understood. The evidence base is real and promising but thinner than some marketing implies. The at-risk groups for whom the trade-off matters are identifiable. That is the full picture, without the clean-beauty simplification and without the dismissal.
On the question of whether hydroxyapatite toothpaste 'fixes cavities': no, and this should be stated without hedging. It can support remineralisation of early sub-surface lesions - demineralised zones that have not yet become cavities - and it can help seal exposed dentine. An established cavity needs a dentist. A product that led a reader to delay treatment on the basis of remineralisation marketing would cause genuine harm.
Where to Actually Buy These in the UK
Two products on this roster are on a UK high street right now: Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair at Boots (£6.99) and Georganics at Peace With The Wild and selected health food retailers. Everything else requires an online purchase.
healf.com is the most efficient single source for the overseas brands: it stocks Boka, RiseWell, Davids, and Fygg, ships UK-wide, and is a UK retailer with a customer service address. If you want to trial several products from one checkout, start here.
Amazon UK covers Biorepair, Miltodent, Apagard, and the backup supply for several others. Verify the seller is Amazon Retail or the brand direct rather than a third-party marketplace seller for products where freshness or authenticity is not obvious from the listing.
S3 is available direct from s3sensitivity.com, with a subscription option at £14.99 per tube. Nura is direct from nurateethcare.com. Dr Jen Natural Super Paste is available via British Vita with free UK delivery.
None of the twelve products requires importing from outside the EU or the US directly. All were UK-available and shipping normally as of 2026-08-27.
How to Read a Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste Box
Four checks, in order. These apply to anything on this list - and to everything that is not.
Does it disclose a percentage? 'Contains hydroxyapatite' without a number tells you nothing. A brand that is proud of its dose states it. A brand that omits it may have a reason for the omission.
Which particle type, and is it relevant to your concern? Nano for depth and sensitivity (dentine tubule sealing); micro for surface coverage; biomimetic for surface calcium release. Both nano and biomimetic together if you want maximum coverage. Micro-only at high dose if you want the highest disclosed percentage on the UK shelf right now.
Is there fluoride, and is it at adult strength? 1,450 ppm is standard UK adult-strength. Below that, the fluoride contribution diminishes. Absent entirely, refer to the at-risk groups section before deciding.
Is it abrasive? A remineralising paste that scrubs the surface it is trying to rebuild is working against itself. SLS-free, foam-free options (Miltodent, Biorepair, Georganics) are gentler on the surface. If the formulation does not state RDA (Relative Dentinal Abrasivity), contact the brand.
One final point that applies regardless of which product you choose: spit, do not rinse. Rinsing immediately after brushing washes away the mineral and fluoride you have just applied. It is the most common way to undo the product you paid for, and the NHS guidance is clear on this. Spit. Leave it.
How We Compared These
Every product was scored against six criteria, applied consistently across all twelve:
1. Disclosed hydroxyapatite percentage - the primary axis. A stated percentage from the brand scores fully. A third-party-reported figure scores at half. No disclosure scores zero. This is weighted most heavily because it is the one thing a consumer cannot verify independently.
2. Particle type strategy - nano only, micro only, or dual-particle (nano plus biomimetic). Dual-particle scores highest because the mechanisms are additive; single-particle scores according to the appropriateness of the type for the claimed use.
3. Fluoride retention - is fluoride present, at what concentration, and as which compound? Products retaining full-strength fluoride score highest. Products omitting fluoride are not penalised for the choice, but the score reflects what the omission costs in evidenced protection for at-risk groups.
4. Potassium nitrate inclusion - at 5%, the clinically used dose for sensitivity management. Potassium nitrate calms the nerve response; hydroxyapatite seals the tubule. They are different mechanisms and different benefits. Products carrying both score higher on this criterion.
5. UK availability and price transparency - is the product readily UK-available without import complexity? Is the price stated clearly at a named UK retailer? Is pricing consistent or highly variable? A product that requires direct import from the US at undisclosed shipping costs scores lower.
6. Review evidence - volume and source. Google Shopping aggregate ratings (from verified purchasers across the market) are weighted more heavily than brand-hosted review counts. Low review volume is not penalised, but is noted where it limits confidence in the score.
| Product | Disclosed HAp % | Particle type | Fluoride | Potassium nitrate | UK availability | Review evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S3 Daily Sensitive | 15% (brand confirmed) | Dual: nano + biomimetic | 1,450 ppm | 5% (Yes) | Direct online | 52-person consumer trial |
| Nura Mineralising Paste | 12% (brand confirmed) | Dual: nano + biomimetic | None | None | Direct online | Trustpilot verified |
| Dr Wolff Bioniq Repair | 20% (third-party reported) | Micro | None | None | Boots (high street) | Limited UK reviews |
| Miltodent Premium | 15% (brand confirmed) | Micro | None | None | eBay / Amazon UK | 96 reviews, 4.94/5 |
| Biorepair | Undisclosed | Micro (proprietary) | None | None | Amazon UK (wide) | 1,000+ reviews, 4.8/5 |
| Apagard Premio | ~10% (third-party reported) | Nano | None | None | Amazon / Pharmeden | Limited UK reviews |
| Boka Ela Mint | Undisclosed | Nano | None | None | healf / Amazon UK | Widely reviewed |
| Georganics | Undisclosed | Not specified | 1,350 ppm | None | High street / PWTW | Good UK review base |
| Dr Jen Natural Super Paste | 10% (brand confirmed) | Nano | 2,200 ppm | None | British Vita (import) | Moderate |
| Davids Sensitivity + Whitening | Undisclosed | Nano | None | None | healf | GDC-endorsed |
| RiseWell Mineral | <0.8% (third-party reported) | Nano | None | None | healf / Amazon UK | Widely recommended |
| Fygg | 3.1% (brand confirmed) | Nano | None | None | healf | 784 reviews, 4.46/5 |
S3 is the only product scoring across all six criteria simultaneously: confirmed dual-particle dose, fluoride at adult strength, and 5% potassium nitrate. That is what the 9.2 rating reflects. Products with undisclosed percentages cannot score fully on criterion 1 regardless of other qualities.
All pricing was verified at named UK retailers on 2026-08-27. Prices change; check before buying.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best hydroxyapatite toothpaste in the UK?
Which toothpaste has the highest concentration of hydroxyapatite?
Why do not dentists recommend hydroxyapatite?
What are the downsides of hydroxyapatite toothpaste?
Does hydroxyapatite toothpaste really fix cavities?
Is nano-hydroxyapatite toothpaste available in the UK?
Do Japanese people use hydroxyapatite toothpaste?
Which Japanese toothpaste brand is considered the best for hydroxyapatite?
What is the best hydroxyapatite toothpaste that actually works?
Can hydroxyapatite and fluoride be used together in the same toothpaste?
None of the above constitutes dental advice. If you have active decay, persistent sensitivity, or any dental concern, see a GDC-registered dentist.